Australia's Political Rollercoaster



Australia's Political Rollercoaster: 13 years, 64 changes
Australian Broadcasting Corporation


The last few years have seen the leaders of the major Australian political parties change significantly at Federal and State/Territory level – sometimes between elections and sometimes as the public votes out a government after just one term.

Perhaps most memorably during the most recent Labor-led government, the Prime Ministership was held by Kevin Rudd, Julia Gillard and then Kevin Rudd again.

Earlier this year, Prime Minister Tony Abbott nearly faced a leadership spill after members of the Coalition became concerned about his performance in the opinion polls.

This data compiled by the ABC shows exactly how many leadership changes there have been over the last 13 years.


Thumbnail image: Nick Page/Flickr

Published Date
February 10, 2015