Online Graphing and Analysis of Democracy



Varieties of Democracy


Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem) is a multi-national collaborative effort of more than 50 scholars who have attempted to measure the status of democracy around the world from 1900 to the present. V-Dem is co-hosted by the University of Notre Dame's Kellogg Institute and the Department of Political Science at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.

The V-Dem Project identifies seven 'principles' of democracy: Electoral, Liberal, Participatory, Majoritarian, Consensual, Deliberative, and Egalitarian. It then further disaggregates into dozens of lower-level 'components' of democracy such as regular elections, judicial independence, direct democracy, and gender equality, and provides disaggregated indicators for each conception and each component.

Users can construct their own indices to suit their specific purposes, exploring relationships in countries or regions of their choosing, amongst specific elements of democracy and over long periods of time, free of charge.


Thumbnail image: Judy van der Velden/Flickr.